Discussions

Planning a new Drupal Commerce Project in stages

I am struggling to find a guide to planning and building a Drupal Commerce project. I am not looking for a step by step tutorial but more a general guide for staging the build.
If we were comparing it to building a house from foundations, plumbing, electrics to painting.. what would a staged list of functionality to be implemented for a Commerce project look like?

What I am trying to avoid is, building a Commerce project that I have to rework because I have implemented functionality in the wrong order and created system dependencies that cause issues.

I have 3+ years of Drupal experience but no Drupal Commerce experience other than fiddling with Kickstart.

It would be great to see a list like:

1. Initial Set-up (Store basic config)
2. Implement Payment Gateways
3. Create Taxonomies
4. Create Products
5. Build Product displays
6. Configure Tax
7. Configure shipping
...and so on.

Thanks

Posted: Aug 30, 2013

Comments

laughnan on September 2, 2013

Your current workflow (i.e. steps 1-7) are exactly how I configured a few clients of Drupal Commerce. I did registrations, so I added Registration configuration before #2, but it shouldn't make a difference. Are you looking for a more a video tutorial holistically?

crontab on September 5, 2013

Hi laughnan, a video tutorial would be great, but a list/flow diagram would be equally helpful.
I feel it will give Commerce novices a bit more confidence and direction when taking on their first projects.
It's often the case that when you learn a new web concept/technology, you look back on your first project and learn a lot from the mistakes or bad judgements you made (inexperience). It would be great to have a basic guide towards the stages involved in a Commerce project with the aim of following best practices and producing a robust product.

michfuer on September 10, 2013