Discussions

Check on Review pane, and payment pane for stock availabilty

Hello,

I'm working on the stock module, and I'd like to add a check after proceeding to the review and payment pages, that all the item are in stock.

Is there a hook for when an order changes status?

Thanks

Idan

Posted: Mar 11, 2011

Comments

Ryan Ryan Szrama on March 19, 2011

Hmm... looks like there's a TODO item for this in the code. :-/

Guess that needs to get resolved before we roll another beta! Ideally the hook will be accompanied by a Rules event so you can setup the default logic for stock checks using default rule configurations.

arbel on March 20, 2011

Sounds great.
Is there anything I can do to help, I"m not much of a coder - I'm a designer but I'm looking to rollout a DC website in the next couple weeks.

Is there a different hook somewhere in the code I can look at and maybe figure out how to create a hook for the review pane?

Idan

Ryan Ryan Szrama on March 22, 2011

Ok, actually, I'm a doofus and I overlooked the obvious solution. There is in fact already a Rules event and hook that gets invoked when an existing order is saved, commerce_order_updated. To determine if an order status change occurred, you simply have to compare the updated order's status against the unchanged order's status. This actually was failing before because we weren't properly accommodating the Rules callback we were using for managing "unchanged entity" parameters in our events. I've updated this for order and ran a test using the following rule that displays a message every time an order's status is updated:

{ "rules_display_order_status_change" : {
    "LABEL" : "Display an order status change",
    "PLUGIN" : "reaction rule",
    "REQUIRES" : [ "rules", "commerce_order" ],
    "ON" : [ "commerce_order_update" ],
    "IF" : [
      { "NOT data_is" : { "data" : [ "order:status" ], "value" : [ "order-unchanged:status" ] } }
    ],
    "DO" : [